Tuesday, July 22, 2014

The Witchcraft Mystery Series

Title: The Witchcraft Mystery Series
Author: Juliet Blackwell

Lily Ivory owns a second-hand clothing store in San Francisco (Cora's Closet -- "It's Not Old It's Vintage!") Over the course of the series she comes to terms with her acquired heritage as a witch and acquires a surrogate family -- some magical, some not. Books in this series include:
 -- Second-Hand Spirits
 -- A Cast-Off Coven
 -- Hexes and Hemlines
 -- In a Witch's Wardrobe
 -- Tarnished and Torn
 -- A Vision in Velvet

Fiction/Mystery; rated 5 out of 5.
Reviewed by Lisa Smith

The Matchmaker

Title: The Matchmaker
Author: Elin Hilderbrand

I loved this book. Set on Nantucket, it chronicles the life of a woman know as "the Matchmaker". She has lived on Nantucket her whole life, and everyone knows her and loves her. She has a huge issue that comes up in her life that she must come to terms with. This is a beautiful, yet poignant story about her life, her family, and ultimately, her choices.

Fiction; rated 5 out of 5.
Reviewed by Donna S.

The Bone Collector

Title: The Bone Collector
Author: Jeffery Deaver

I didn't like so much this book. It contained a serial killer that was collecting people, killing them and taking out surgically their bones. He was sending certain bones with certain means to their close friends or loved ones, torturing them till they got together as a group to finally put an end to the mayhem.

Fiction; rated 3 out of 5.
Reviewed by Allison Falci

Monday, July 21, 2014

I'll Fly Away: Further Testimonies from the Women of York Prison

Title: I'll Fly Away: Further Testimonies from the Women of York Prison
Editor: Wally Lamb

Short stories written by women who come from poor backgrounds, many victims of abuse. A great project by Wally Lamb showing how women survive and persevere.

Non-Fiction; rated 4 out of 5.
Reviewed by Rosalie Capobianco

West Side Story

Title: West Side Story Author: Irving Shulman The Sharks versus the Jets are rivals in a gang in a small town. The book is also a love story of Maria from the Sharks and the main boy in the rivals' team. At the end in a major fight by mistake her lover is killed causing a truce between the families and gangs. The police are finally relieved to stop having all the crimes and fights occurring. Fiction; rated 3 out of 5. Reviewed by Eric Petraglia

Blood Oath

Title: Blood Oath
Author: Christopher Farnsworth

A vampire is bound to the president to protect him for life. He has a helper assigned to him. I love how they try to cover up all conspiracies with terrorist lies. Wondering if these things really happen in real life. Dr. Frankenstein for instance made a bunch of undeads and they were called and tried to kill the president.

Fiction; rated 4 out of 5.
Reviewed by Sebastien Godart

Red, White and Blood

Title: Red, White and Blood
Author: Christopher Farnsworth

I love Nathaniel Cade books; this book was the third book of this series. The evil in this book was the unhuman Boogeyman. The Boogeyman and Cade have history. Satanists keep killing to resurrect him over and over. The President Curtis is trying to be re-elected and is being tracked down by the Boogeyman and his allies in the goal of killing Cade and Helen Holt who is still alive from the very first book with Dr. Frankenstein. Cade in this book breaks his self promise to never feed on humans (he's a vampire) to save his life and keep his oath to protect the president.

Fiction; rated 5 out of 5.
Reviewed by Allison Falci